The Goat was nominated in the 2016 CÓYOTL AWARDS for Best Novella!

I am so happy to announce that The Goat: Building the Perfect Victim from Red Ferret Press was nominated for Best Furry Novella of 2016! The other two are Culdesac by Robert Repino & The Time He Desires by Kyell Gold.

I don’t know how to figure my odds against Kyell Gold. He’s like a targeted missile for the fandom and The Time He Deserves is getting some good press. The Goat’s rather the opposite in every way. Not everyone is supposed to like The Goat. In fact, you’re supposed to leave the book hating at least one character.

On the other hand, this is why the Coyotl Awards exist. The Ursa Major Award is a popularity contest from the fans — and there’s nothing wrong with that. I’m proud to have been nominated for an UMA years ago. It’s just in theory, the Coyotl’s are about the craft.

There is often a difference in those spheres.

I’ve been so pleased by the different ways The Goat has touched people. From “a slap in the face” to denial that Frank even can represent the LBGT+ community, it’s been fascinating to see what people get out of it. It’s the most artistic thing I may ever do, in that I intended to provoke the reader. My future stories may be better crafted, but this is my idea of truth.

And to that extent, it’s so wonderful to be acknowledged like this. Because my fellow writers in my niche think I’ve done something worthy even if the sales aren’t great.
Even if I don’t win — and I don’t know if I should: I haven’t read the other novellas yet — I will carry this into the future with pride.

And now, here’s a list of all the nominees for 2016:

Nominees for Best Novel

  • Black Angel – Kyell Gold
  • The Digital Coyote – Kris Schnee
  • Dog Country – Malcolm F. Cross
  • Flower’s Curse – Madison Keller
  • Memoirs of a Polar Bear – Yoko Tawada

Nominees for Best Novella

  • Culdesac – Robert Repino
  • The Goat – Bill Kieffer
  • The Time He Desires – Kyell Gold

Nominees for Best Short Story

  • “400 Rabbits” – Alice “Huskyteer” Dryden
  • “A Gentleman of Strength” – Dwale
  • “Old-Dry-Snakeskin” – Ross Whitlock
  • “The Torch” – Chris “Sparf” Williams

Nominees for Best Anthology

  • Claw the Way to Victory – AnthroAquatic (editor)
  • Gods with Fur – Fred Patten (editor)
  • Hot Dish #2 – Dark End (editor)

Congrats to everyone nominated! Sadly, it took me more than 24 hours to really see any one else’s name in this list. OMG! My ego just swelled up so much I suffered from temporary blindness, so I ask your forgiveness. I don’t know how I’m going to vote! I can read the short stories in eformat, but longer works suffer being read on the computer. My editing eyes keep getting in the way. Last year, I promised myself to make the effort, so I will. I’ll just to find the funds somewhere.

And not let my wife see that I’m buying more books.