Raven’s Peak

Raven's Peak (World on Fire #1)Raven’s Peak by Lincoln Cole

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I registered a book at BookCrossing.com!
http://www.BookCrossing.com/journal/13667165

The author’s a wonderful craftsman. I wouldn’t have guessed that it was a self-published work. There’s no flashy magic where demons and humans meet but the conflict comes across.

There’s this strange effect when a book is a tale told almost perfectly. And Raven’s Peak was told almost perfectly. The dialogue was flawless and the characters pulled me right in. So many things were handled flawlessly that it’s not fair for me to dwell on the negative, but I am from New Jersey. It’s what we do.

Abigail’s timeline of her life, interaction with demons, and Arthur seems a little bit off and it stuck with me largely because I thought it might be a plot point. By the end of the book, I’m thinking not so much… but then Raven’s Peak is part of a trilogy/series so maybe later.

The other flaws are of the factoid variety, so in retrospect, “catching” them is probably just me being an annoying “know-it-all.” So, all I am going to do with that is annoy myself. None of these things were plot-points or character building, so I’m letting those things go.

I’m very glad that there’s no romance building here; although, of course, Haatim and Abigail do forge a relationship of trust and respect, something that might turn into romance, later. If that happens, I suspect the author will let that happen organically.

I’m looking forward to getting my hooves the next segment.

View all my reviews

