Getting Started with Project Wonderful

My favourite webcomic is Sluggy Freelance by my fellow New Jersian, Pete Abrams. For a long time now, I’ve noticed the advertising on his space and I’ve occasionally followed it to some interesting sites. Those ads were from Project Wonderful and they were almost universally suggesting other webcomics or things of similar interest to me. These ads acted as referrals to me, although I never fell in love with them enough to replace Sluggy Freelance.

Honestly, it’s hard to beat a rabbit with a switchblade, IMHO.

Recently, however, I noticed Pete replaced Project Wonderful with AdChoices. I can only assume that the new ad server is generating more revenue for his site; which is important. Sluggy.com is successful enough to support Pete between his “Defenders of the Nifty” and sales of his collections. Project Wonderful doesn’t guarnatee revenue on the ads, as they use this bid system, that can be best explained here.

So, instead of three ads on the one page for different webcomics or books, I have ads for Luke Cage on Netflix (of interest to me), an ad for Audible Books (or some interest to me), and an ad from The Golden Nugget inviting me to throw my money at them online (not really interested) today.

If I refresh the page I get two ads for Jo-Anns fabrics and a Hyundai.

Because the AdChoice advertisers are just throwing things out there to see what will stick and they can afford misses. Plus, if nobody clicks on the ad, they do not get charged as much. Or maybe at all.

As soon as I released that I missed those ads, I realized that I needed to start advertising with Project Wonderful. I figured since small webcomics were advertising with them, then they must be affordable. I figured that the situation must be very similar to webrings and Link Exchange (kids, ask your parents). My assumption proved partially correct; just add eBay’s automatic bidding system into the mix and there you go.

Its the bidding system that really gives that feeling of targeted interests and a sort of community that I got from the ads. An advertising may be spending money on this site and its a daily flat fee that they bid on that determines whose ads actually get on the site. And, just like with eBay’s autobidding system, the highest bidder wins, but the winner is only charged enough to win. So if Jack bets a ten cents a day, and Jill bets $1.00/day, then Jill only pays 11¢. That’s kinda exciting (if you’ve ever been in a bidding war on eBay, you know this feeling). And the system gives you the added benefit of potentially getting free exposure on a targeted website.

So, I joined up and downloaded their templates. I found the first site that I wanted to advertise on and I sent this morning creating a simple “skyscraper” ad for it. It was harder than it should have been because my photoshop skills were very rusty. But here it is for your perusal.

I will talk more on Project Wonderful as I move forward…

Thanks for stopping by!

 

goat_skyscraperad

